Sound check - welcome - saying hello

Breaking new ground here… please feel free to introduce yourself…

Which version of Delphi do you use? Vcl and/or FireMonkey? Which platforms? Which DBMS?
What type of project are you working on most these days?

These details are very interesting to us here!

Hello! It is singularly odd to write an introduction to potential future visitors before anyone has joined.
This “topic” exists because I thought it might be good to have a place for joining and making ourselves known to each other. Please feel free to jump in and say as much or as little as you want about yourself.

I co-founded HREF Tools in 1995. I code in Delphi every week, usually every day. I’m not an expert but I feel fairly fluent and have encountered much of the terrain around component design.

I’m basically here to help you with any of our products and to facilitate growth of your projects and this niche of the object pascal community.

Best,
Ann

Hi

I’m a freelance Delphi developer based in the UK. I first used rubicon 10 or 12 years ago and have used it on a number of projects since with Oracle, MSSQL, DBISAM and NexusDB back ends and various versions of Delphi from 7 thru to 10.3.
The biggest project I used it on in terms of data was indexing the text extracted by OCR’ing hundreds of thousands of pages of commercial aircraft maintenance documentation. While I have a pretty good idea of how it works I’m still amazed by the speed of the search results.
If I had one tip for newbies to rubicon it would be to make sure your IDs are as contiguous as possible, if you have big gaps it seems to affect performance and accuracy of progress reports (something that could be improved by the way). If IDs in are auto-inc or identity fields with gaps I generally add a rubiconID column specifically for this purpose and populate that from 1 to n immediately before indexing.

Cheers
Dave

1 Like

Hi Dave,